Tags

When I think about a “Pietá” it always comes to my mind Miguel Angel,s one. It is so peaceful, full of emotion and passion. It is that kind of beauty that makes me shiver and makes me cry.

When I saw for the first time Pablo Atchugar,s ( Uruguay 1954)  “Pietá” I thought it was a joke. The figures are so stiff and humanless. At first glance I couldn´t find any emotion, the composition seams cold and anti-natural.  To appreciate this modern Pietá, I needed to take my time, I just needed to let it talk to me. It is then when I felt in love with the texture, the dramatic  peace and poetry  that it is hidden in the marble. Pure and sencere emotion!!!

The Pietá was my first  contact  with Pablo, and it was the moment to study his work. After a couple of years of study, I think he is today’s maestro of marble. Nobody works it as delicate as  he does. His white marble pieces are soft, tender and delicate. I really like his big size sculptures, they embrace  and enlightens me.